Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Overview of Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Purpose of Award

Today, having entered the 21st century, the international political and economic situation is undergoing a major transformation, and there are many issues that need to be resolved on a global scale, including environmental and energy problems. In these circumstances, it is creative intelligence and proactive approaches that will enable us to boldly tackle the various problems to lead to brighter prospects. Keeping this in mind, the Nakasone Yasuhiro Award was established in 2004 with the aim of contributing to realization of a truly peaceful and prosperous international society by honoring the efforts of young people who have made internationally significant achievements in diverse fields such as politics, economics, culture, and science and technology, and by encouraging their continuing activities.

Outline of the Award


Candidates with demonstrated exemplary research or activity in the following fields are encouraged to apply.

  • Enhancing peace and security in the international community.
  • Promotion of international economic development and cooperation.
  • Activities to support international exchange in culture and arts as well as cultural cooperation.
  • International joint research and international collaboration in the fields of science and technology.
  • Efforts in such global issues as the environment, energy, medicine, poverty, etc.


Applicants from Japan and the Asia-Pacific region who are around the age of 45 or younger in principle.

Selection Method

The Selection Committee reviews referrals from experts in various fields and self-nominations and makes selections.

Steering Committee and Selection Committee

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee, consisting of leading experts and associates of NPI, determines the policy and authorizes the results of the Selection Committee.

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee, composed of experts and associates of NPI, reviews the candidates and selects Award recipients.

Committee Members (alphabetical order; honorifics omitted)

Steering Committee Members
FUJISAKI Ichiro President, Nakasone Peace Institute
FUKUKAWA Shinji Adviser, Association for Technological Excellence Promoting Innovative Advances
Gerald CURTIS Burgess Professor Emeritus, Columbia University
HASEGAWA Kazutoshi Former Ambassador to Australia
IMAI Takashi Honorary Chairman, Nippon Steel Corporation
Jason P. Hyland Charge’d’ Affaires ad interm, U.S. Embassy in Tokyo
KAWAGUCHI Yoriko Visiting Professor, Musashino University; Fellow, Musashino Institute for Global Affairs
KAWASHIMA Shin Executive Director of Research, Nakasone Peace Institute
KITAOKA Shinichi Chief Research Adviser, Nakasone Peace Institute
KOJIMA Akira Adviser, Japan Center for Economic Research
KOJO Yoshiko Professor, Aoyama Gakuin University
SASE Masamori Professor Emeritus, National Defense Academy of Japan; Professor, Takushoku University
Selection Committee Members
CHINO Keiko Guest Columnist, The Sankei Shimbun
ITO Misako Secretary-General, Japan CULCON (The US-Japan Conference on Cultural and Educational Interchange)
KAWASHIMA Shin Executive Director of Research ad interim, Nakasone Peace Institute
MATSUDA Yasuhiro Professor, The University of Tokyo
OBA Mie Professor, Tokyo University of Science
TAJIKA Eiji Professor, Hitotsubashi School of International and Public Policy
< Back to previous page

Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Latest Research

Latest Research >
Nakasone Peace Institute (NPI)(NPI)
Copyright ©Nakasone Peace Institute, All Rights Reserved.