Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Recipients of the 16th Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Mr. Joshua W. Walker, PhD (Award of Excellence)

Age: 39
Nationality: United States
President & CEO, Japan Society

Reasons for Selection:
An expert in International Politics and Security Theory, Dr. Walker has built an extensive network in Europe and the United States as well as the Middle East and East Asia. Building bridges across continents through active exchanges, he has established significant influence as an opinion leader in Washington and beyond. In 2019 he was appointed as the youngest President and CEO to serve at Japan Society, and is recognized for his contributions in promoting U.S.-Japan exchanges and strengthening the U.S.-Japan alliance.

Mr. KUBO Tatsuhiko, PhD (Incentive Award)

Age: 45
Nationality: Japan
Professor, Graduate School of Biomedical and Health Sciences, Hiroshima University

Reasons for Selection:
Based on experience in Japan Disaster Relief (JDR) and Disaster Medical Assistance (DMAT), Mr. Kubo developed a standard medical report format called “J-SPEED” for use by medical teams dispatched to disaster sites. After that, he led a working group at the World Health Organization (WHO) where, in 2017, the Emergency Medical Team Minimum Data Set (MDS) was developed based on the J-SPEED format. Currently MDS is the international standard used in disaster medical service and activities.

Ms. YAMAMOTO Eri (Incentive Award)

Age: 46
Nationality: Japan
Secretary General, Shanti Volunteer Association

Reasons for Selection:

Since 2001, Ms. Yamamoto has been engaged in educational and emergency humanitarian relief projects in six countries and regions including Thailand, Afghanistan, and Pakistan. Shanti’s activities to rebuild education in Afghanistan through the school library in the Back to School campaign supported by the Government of Japan were particularly highly evaluated.

< Back to previous page

Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Latest Research

Latest Research >
Nakasone Peace Institute (NPI)(NPI)
Copyright ©Nakasone Peace Institute, All Rights Reserved.